Sport Flying

Light Sport Aircraft (LSA)

Light Sport Aircraft (LSA) are targeted to recreational pilots who primarily fly for fun. LSA are designed to be affordable, lightweight, and easy to operate. All SkyRunner Aircraft are classified as S-LSA (Special-Light Sport Aircraft). Factory built and ready-to-fly.
– 1,320 pounds (599 kg) maximum takeoff weight (1,430 pounds w/ exemption) (649 kg)
– Maximum airspeed of 52 mph (45 knots) (83.6 kmh)
– Maximum two-person seating capacity (pilot + passenger)
– Single, reciprocating engine
– Fixed or ground-adjustable propeller
– Non-pressurized cabin

The Sport Pilot License (SPL)

The Sport Pilot License (SPL) is a new type of pilot certificate designed to get you safely and easily trained for recreational flying in Light Sport Aircraft. By restricting recreational flying for sport pilots to daytime, good weather, and in uncongested airspace, much of the complexities of learning to fly have been removed.
– Type of airplane: Any that meets LSA classification
– In-flight training: 12 hours (minimum)
– Medical Requirements: FAA Medical or Driver’s License*
– Minimum Age: 17
– Certification Process: must pass an FAA written and practical examination
– Flying at night: No
– Flying cross country: Yes
– Flight in inclement weather or clouds: No
– Flight in controlled airspace: Yes with additional instructor sign-off
– Occupants: 2 (pilot and passenger)
– Altitude limit: 10,000 ft. MSL (mean sea level)


For more information, visit the EAA at or the AOPA at